All Programme

N-collective presents N-event 11

N-Collective is an international network of musicians and composers consisting of a conglomerate of groups and ensembles from different countries (Norway, the Netherlands, Turkey, America, Sweden and Germany) whose main task is to develop, support and promote adventurous music in different genres including improvisation, electronica, jazz, noise and contemporary music.

MoHa! (NO)
MoHa! stands for thoroughly improvisational and energetic rock with a punk attitude, and is also the youngest member of the Norwegian Rune Grammophone label (see Supersilent). Raus aus stavanger combines the highly explosive drums of Morten J. Olsen (Ultralyd, Phô) with the menacing guitar work of Anders Hanne (Jaga Jazzist, Ultralyd), which has a very coherent and determined whole, without being able to put a stamp on it.

Imagine Lightning Bolt going back to the drawing board, reinventing themselves as a free jazz combo and playing a show with Wolf Eyes and you might have some idea where we’re going here. (Boomkat)

Morten J. Olsen: drums and electronics / Anders Hana: guitar
MoHa! on

Electronic music with a mission can be found on the site of N-Collective. Either electro-acoustic duo with a unique sound that further explores the boundaries of the genre. Their unusual instrumentation of flute with feedback, computer processing and live electronics swings between improvisation, highly technical pieces and modern composition. Their live performances are groundbreaking, casting aside preconceptions about electro-acoustic aesthetics and described by The Wire as enlightening.
For fans of Xenakis, Merzbow and Mats Gustafsson.

Jeff Carey: SuperCollider / Bjornar Habbestad: flute and SuperCollider

Duch/Kaasbøll (NO).
Anita Kaasbøll and Michael Francis Duch studied at the Trondheim Conservatory of Music in Norway. Since 1997, they have played together as a duo and in various loose collaborations with Lasse Marhaug, Gert Jan Prins, Morten J. Olsen, Koen Nutters, among others. In addition, Kaasbøll collaborated with David Stackenäs, among others, and Duch worked with Mats Gustafsson, Otomo Yoshilhide, Jazzkammer and Peter Brötzmann, among others.

Michael Francis Duch: double bass / Anita Kaasbøll: voice and electronics

Office-R(6) (NL/NO/US/TR)
This free improv sextet from Amsterdam includes members from the Netherlands, Norway, Turkey and the United States, and is pretty much the flagship of the N-collective. Their music consists mainly of structured sound improvisations that create an interesting dialogue between the acoustic and the electronic, exploring the boundaries of the genre. The entirely live recording Mundane Occurences and Presentations (Lampse) contains references to Evan Parker as well as John Zorn.

Koen Nutters: bass, structure / Robert van Heumen: laptop / Jeff Carey: laptop / Sakir Oguz Buyukberber: bass clarinet / Dirk Bruinsma: soprano and baritone saxophone / Morten J Olsen: percussion

19.04.2006 20:30